Katie Chapman

Are We Really Serious About Santorum?

In Uncategorized on February 20, 2012 at 2:29 am

Image

 

I still don’t believe it.  I had trouble believing it after the Iowa caucus and now, I just do no understand why the majority of the news coverage is based on this guy.  Are Americans actually starting to back up Santorum? Do they actually agree with his standpoints? Think he can win the Presidency?  Or do they just hate Romney that much?  The partisanship has gotten absolutely ridiculous.  I pride myself on being a moderate, slightly leaning to the left.  Since I have turned 18, I have voted for both Republicans and Democrats.  But, the show that the GOP is putting on right now has turned me off 100%.  I knew something was off when Huntsman couldn’t get a word in anywhere and Americans I respect were getting excited over an idiot in a sweater vest.

Super Tuesday is coming up in a few weeks, and there’s no telling where this show will go next.  I currently reside in Virginia and plan on voting in the primary on March 6th.  But, there’s absolutely no way I am voting for RIck Santorum.  And quite frankly, I do not understand why any woman would.  Alexander Burns and Maggie Haberman of Politico write, “In his 2005 book “It Takes a Family,” [Santorum] advocated an old-school role for women in the home and accused “radical feminists” of undermining families by telling women ‘professional accomplishments are the key to happiness.’ Santorum says his wife authored that section.”  I absolutely do not consider myself a radical feminists.  But, under Santorum’s definition, I have no problem referring to myself as such.  Professional accomplishments made by women should not go under the radar.  Hey Rick! You’re running for President.  Women make up half of the vote. Think about it….

Do we really want a President who doesn’t believe in a basic right such as birth control for women?  For whatever reason a woman may choose to use birth control, it is a human right, not Rick Santorum’s right to decide.  But, I won’t continue to beat the dead horse as the media does.

As a woman, I could never support a candidate like Rick Santorum.  I understand that the rest of the GOP field presidential field is nothing to get excited over, but C’MON! Woman have worked too hard to go backwards at a time like this!

  1. Katie, you said it well for all women. It is difficult to accept the Republican dialogue in their primary election with so many pressing problems facing our times. Next,I am waiting for them to discuss the dinosaur exhibit at the Museum of Natural History in New York City!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 239 other followers

